Hands and feet



When I was a teacher, I had this posted by my classroom door so that my students would see it every time they left.  It was a reminder that we were to be Christ’s hands and feet for those who didn’t know Him and may only see Him through our actions- or inactions.  

I wanted to remind my students and myself, that everything I did or didn’t do in the name of Christ mattered.  If I was kind to someone who was having a rough day it made a difference in how their day would be going forward. If I chose to criticize instead of forgive, it made a difference as well.  

My day-to-day interactions with the customers I help has been proof of this in ways I never knew.  I have had people who felt desperate, frustrated, sad, and at their wits end thank me at the of the call because I helped them see there was hope after all.  I get such joy and peace from helping others and it reminds me that my situation isn’t as bad as I once thought it was.

My prayer is that we would all post this by our doors, at our desks, and in our hearts to remind us that our actions will turn people to Jesus or from Jesus

My husband reminded me yesterday that words don’t mean as much as actions.  We can say we will love the unlovely, but do we? We can say we will forgive the hurt, but do we?  We need to speak less and do more. 

I think the Newsboys said it best, so I will leave you with these words…


I wanna be your hands
I wanna be your feet
I’ll go where you send me, go where you send me
I’ll be your hands
I’ll be your feet
I’ll go where you send me, go where you send me

 May it be so with me. 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

