hearts and minds

As I have worked with the public these past six months, I have found myself feeling fulfilled.  I love helping someone who is overwhelmed by life at that moment find relief, even if it is for a month or two.  I also find that my co-workers are now asking for assistance from me when they have a question.

I don’t say this as a giant pat on my own back, I share it simply because it brings me joy to help others.  Being able to help others has always made me happy.

As a new believer I was told that God had given to me certain Spiritual Gifts that could be used for His glory and purpose.  Over the years it has evolved as I have grown in my faith.  The first time I took a Spiritual Gifts test one of my top three gifts was Helps.  It has also been Teaching, Faith, and Intercession.

I can see where God has moved my heart and mind into the seasons where those different gifts were the primary gift.  It was as I spent my time helping many, or teaching many, or believing and praying for many.

God moves through us all the time, when we allow Him to do so.  He brings us to the place where we can shine for Him and draw others to Him.  We just have to decide if we are willing to submit to His timing, His plan, and His authority.

If we aren’t willing to submit our hearts and minds to Him, then we run the risk of losing out on the blessing we will receive for our obedience.

Hebrews 10:16 says “This is the covenant I will make with them after that time, says the Lord. I will put my laws in their hearts, and I will write them on their minds.” 

When we chose to enter into a covenant with God we allow Him access to our hearts and minds and we are always the better for it.

Whether we offer assistance to people on the phone, in the classroom, in our homes, or on the street.

When our hearts and minds are aligned with Him everything else will bring us joy.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

