On my way to sleep

As I prepare to go to sleep my mind is taking a roll call of prayers and concerns. 

For those serving our country so far away whether in uniform or in other offices- my heart prays for their protection.

For those who don’t live in a safe home environment– to find protection and safety before any more harm comes to them. 

For those who are facing medical issues– cancer and other illnesses– to know that they are loved and being prayer over all the time.

For those whose hearts are hurting from unspoken pain– to know God knows their hurts and loves them and wants to bring healing to them.

For those who are lost, lonely, without direction– that God has a plan and purpose for them and they are NOT alone in this world. 

When I would spend the night at my grandparents’ house as a little girl, my grandmother would say prayers with me. I loved her gentle spirit so much. So, though the words are simple – they are still timeless. In her memory I share them now…

Now I lay me down to sleep 

and pray the Lord my soul to keep 

Guide me through the starry night

And waken me at morning’s light. 

May tomorrow remind us that all things are new and tonight may we lay our burdens at His feet. 

Amen. 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

