fresh

Each day I wake up and listen to what my day will become.  I listen to the birds singing in the ornamental cherry tree outside our apartment or the wind blowing by my window.  I listen to the song my heart sings even before my mind is awake.  It is as if my soul is striving to align itself with God’s new day.

Today I woke to a song by Darlene Zschech, “Miracle” from the album Change Your World.   It was a reminder that with each new day comes a new opportunity to be a part of God’s work, His plan, and to use my gifts for His purposes–not my own.

These past months have been such a season of trusting, believing, and hoping and it seemed like my heart was calling out what my whole being has been growing inside.  Preparation for the next step, the next season, in my faith journey.

I am not one to believe in the “name it, claim it” kind of faith.  Instead, I have seen God move when His timing was perfect and I was in the very center of His will.  Never a moment before then, never a moment later.  I have seen this kind of faith proven true again and again.  God is faithful and true and never fails to provide exactly when it is time.  I love that kind part of His character.

I don’t know what is coming– I don’t need to know– God knows and that is enough.  He will let me know when I need to know and not a moment before.  This is the way my faith grows– every time God draws me to Him, to see the next step, to anticipate the way He will show up.  It keeps my faith fresh and strong.

It is this kind of faith that I know will stand strong when difficulties rise up and seem to stretch out for miles in front of me.  But it is also the reality of faith– trusting and waiting to see what God has planned.  In the mean time, my heart will continue to sing….

 
I am ready for a miracle
I’m expecting a miracle
That the house of God
Will be glorious
And the world will see
Every harvest starts with a seed of faith
See the nation rise and take its place
I am ready
Ready for a miracle

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

