sight

Every day I put in my contacts, blink, and see far distances, crisp lines, and clear colors.  I admit I take it for granted most days.  Being able to see what is in front of me, coming toward me, the smiles of my sons, the blue eyes of my husband, sunrises, sunsets, flowers, snow, raindrops, delight my heart and fill my spirit.

My husband has recently been diagnosed with glaucoma.  It is still in its early stage, but eventually he will lose his ability to see from that eye.  My cousin has had glaucoma since she was a baby and my grandmother has had glaucoma for years as well.  I know what is coming, maybe not now, but someday.  I strive to not borrow trouble about it and chose to take every day as it comes.  Medication will help, but there will be a day when it does very little.

I think of the people who have never seen any of the things I mentioned above, the smile of their loved ones, a Christmas tree lit with color and I realize the first thing their “broken” eyes will see is the face of Jesus when they step into Heaven.

Fanny Crosby, one of my favorite hymn writers, was blind from infancy, yet went on to write over 8,000 hymns and other written works until her death at 94.  It was Fanny who said, “when I get to heaven, the first face that shall ever gladden my sight will be that of my Savior.”  It was her perspective that her loss of earthly sign allowed her to focus on Heaven in a way others may not be able to with sight.

Faith is a lot like sight in this way.  We often quote the verse from Hebrews 11 which says Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.  We don’t see the God we believe in, but we see evidence of Him everywhere.

If we look for it.  What I mean is, we have faith based on how we view the world.  We can either view the world as a terrible place, full of fear and dread, or we can see it full of joy, opportunity, and blessings.  It’s all about how we frame it.

Fanny Crosby could have been a pitiful woman, who was miserable and lived like a victim to her blindness.  But she didn’t.  She chose to embrace her situation and praise God for it all.

It was all about the way she chose to “see.”

I need to reframe my view all the time.  Is it a tragedy or an opportunity?  Is it a set back or a chance to grow?

I pray I will open my eyes each day and praise God that it is a new day and He has a plan for me.  I don’t always know what my day will hold, but I know God does and that is enough.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

