footsteps

Nearly one year ago my husband and I sat down to discuss our future.  Things were coming to a close in Illinois and we needed to decide if we were going to fight to stay or recognize the signs and take a risk.

We took a risk.

Now on the other side of the risk, we see the reward.  As I have stated before, this trail we have been walking has not been easy.  It has been filled with laughter, tears, some battles, and some times of doubt– but we have faith that we are doing the right thing–according to the path God is leading us to take.

We see the fruition of this decision in our jobs, my husband and I work together every day. It helps us build our communication, deepen our relationship, and encourage other couples in the process. I love, truly, being with him and sharing our experiences together.

We see the fruition of our decision as our boys finish their school year– succeeding in academics, athletics, and friendships– things they were unsure of accomplishing when we first moved here.

Our church has been a blessing in ways I truly couldn’t have imagined.  We left a beautiful, thriving church in Illinois–filled with dear ones we miss every week.  And yet, God has blessed us with people who care about our sons; pouring time, energy, and prayers into them.  We serve with people who have extended their hands and time to us to help us prepare our new home.  It has been above and beyond what I could have ever thought or imagined would come from the decision to move.

As a young believer I faced my first crisis of Faith. In the end, I knew that God had a bigger and better plan–even if I couldn’t see it or understand it.  I found these verses to remind me that God was worth following, even if I couldn’t see more than a few feet in front of me.  It reminded me that God’s plan would be the best plan– and that was true then, just as it is true now.

Psalm 63:1-8

You, God, are my God,

   earnestly I seek you;

I thirst for you,
    my whole being longs for you,
in a dry and parched land
    where there is no water.

I have seen you in the sanctuary
    and beheld your power and your glory.
Because your love is better than life,
    my lips will glorify you.
I will praise you as long as I live,
    and in your name I will lift up my hands.
I will be fully satisfied as with the richest of foods;
    with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

On my bed I remember you;
    I think of you through the watches of the night.
Because you are my help,
    I sing in the shadow of your wings.
I cling to you;
    your right hand upholds me.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

