Expectations 

 I am the kind of person who likes to plan things out.  I want to know what to expect today, tomorrow, next week, two months from now, etc.  I married a man whose plans are more fluid.  He is able to adjust and adapt and roll with it when changes come.  

You can imagine how our marriage has evolved over the past seventeen years.  I have been challenged to let go of things, to loosen my grip, to release my plans to take hold of other plans, especially God’s plans. 

Before I said yes to my husband, I had been engaged to a young man from Texas.  Three weeks before the wedding he called it off.  It was my first “big” test from God.  Would I be willing to empty my hands of all of the plans I had for my future to trust the unknown plans of God?  I chose to trust my future to God.  It was hard in some ways and easy in others.  

I learned that holding tightly to what I wanted left very little room for the grand design of God.  My faith grew exponentially in the years afterward. I took trips, had adventures, and did things I never would have been able to do, had I married the Texan.  

Four years after my cancelled wedding, I said yes to my best friend, the one man who had stood by me and loved me, and waited for me.  We were married five months later.  As I have mentioned previously, our years together have been full of adventure, trial and error, laughter and tears.  Nothing I ever would have imagined God had planned for us.

And now we stand at the altar again, laying down something we thought was part of God’s plan to have empty hands…but only when our hands are empty are we able to take up the next thing God has in store for us.  

For the message series our church is doing now we have been singing Oceans by Hillsong United.  The chorus is our prayer for these next weeks, trusting God for where we will put our feet.  

OCEANS (Where feet may fail)

You call me out upon the waters

The great unknown where feet may fail

And there I find You in the mystery

In oceans deep

My faith will stand


And I will call upon Your name

And keep my eyes above the waves

When oceans rise

My soul will rest in Your embrace

For I am Yours and You are mine


Your grace abounds in deepest waters

Your sovereign hand

Will be my guide

Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me

You’ve never failed and You won’t start now


So I will call upon Your name

And keep my eyes above the waves

When oceans rise

My soul will rest in Your embrace

For I am Yours and You are mine

[6x]

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders

Let me walk upon the waters

Wherever You would call me

Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander

And my faith will be made stronger

In the presence of my Savior

I will call upon Your name

Keep my eyes above the waves

My soul will rest in Your embrace

I am yours and you are mine


The one lesson we know –without a doubt– is that God has the best planned for us… 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

