what it looks like from here

A God who created everything– sun, moon, trees, ants, molecules– everything.

A God who chose to create man and woman– in His image He created them (Genesis 1:27)– He desired a relationship with them, yet they chose to turn away from Him and the relationship they shared.

But God did not stop loving them and their offspring.  He decided to create another way to show His love. In His perfect timing God sent His son as a baby to a poor, young couple.  He could have  chosen to have Jesus born to a family of wealth and privilege, but how would He reach the poor, the destitute, those who were the “less than” of the world if he were removed from it all?

Instead, Jesus saw it all; the broken, the forgotten, the maligned, marginalized–and what did He do when He saw them?

He didn’t condemn them, He didn’t tell them that for five installments of twenty drachmas He would pray for them.  He didn’t tell them to “get it together” and then He’d talk with them.  He didn’t tell them to do a multi-step process to be made “holy” or pure enough to talk with Him.

No.

Jesus came down right in the midst of their pain, their sorrow, their loss, their brokenness, and He loved them.  He loved them. He acknowledged them.  Gave them His time.  He gave them attention they had never had from the religious rulers.

He gave them Hope.  Something worth waking up for in the morning.

Jesus showed them grace, mercy, that the God of the Universe loved the least of these.

He showed that Love in the most unbelievable way possible.  He died for them. It was the only way to bring Restoration between God and mankind.  Jesus loved you and He loved me, He loved my great-grandparents and my great-grandchildren so much that He willingly died on our behalf.

And yet— even after such a great sacrifice people chose to create a different god.  A god that can be manipulated, a god that we can decide will be glad for us, not disappointed, a god that would never ask something of us that we aren’t willing to give.

What kind of god is that? Certainly no kind of god I want to serve.

I long to seek, serve, and love a God– the God — who has loved me since before I was born– since before my great-great-great-grandmother Sophie was born.

How do I know He loved me way back then?  Because He set up the Way of Restoration back in Genesis 3:15 with the “Offspring” of Eve. The Way as described in John 14:6.

I am not obedient to what God asks of me because I have to –or am forced to– I love the God of the Universe like a child loves a parent.  I will follow God because He cares for me, loves me, wants the best for me.  He has a plan for me. He longs to teach me, grow me, and challenge me– like the best parents do for their children.

God is worthy and deserving of the praise and prayer I offer to Him.  His word is true– it has been proven again and again, century after century.

This is why I have chosen to obey God when things do not make sense to other people.  Decisions that are crazy from a human point-of-view are very logical from Heaven’s point-of-view.

We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure. Hebrews 6:19 NIV

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

