sunshine

As part of the bedtime routine I would pray Bible verses over our boys.  Verses that were about trusting God, growing strong in their faith, and truths about God’s character.  One of the passages I would pray over them was from Ephesians 6:10-17, The Armor of God.  It was one of the most important prayers I could pray for them.  I found that during the night was the time when the enemy seemed to creep into their rooms and fear loomed larger than it did in the daytime.

My sons felt that they could face the dark, face the shadows, and be “big boys” in their own rooms, when they were wearing their armor.  Feeling equipped for the battle made all of the difference.

So last night I found myself fighting these same kinds of shadows.  The ever repetitive Anxiety cycle kept rolling around my mind and trying to seep into my heart.  In the end, I reminded myself that I am a child of God, the God of the Universe, there is nothing that the enemy can do to me. God made me His and even in the dark, with the shadows and “monsters” under the bed, I am still His.  Nothing will change this.  It is all part of an elaborate illusion.

When daylight comes, and the sunshine pours through the windows I can see clearly and all is put to right.  Just like my favorite quote from the Narnia series,  it may seem hopeless when there is “always winter and never Christmas” but then we have the promise:

“Wrong will be right, when Aslan comes in sight,
At the sound of his roar, sorrows will be no more,
When he bares his teeth, winter meets its death,
And when he shakes his mane, we shall have spring again.”

It is all about where I put my faith and trust.

I know that my redeemer lives, and that in the end he will stand on the earth (Job 19:25).

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

