that moment

Today I was scrolling through one of my news-feeds on my phone and found a picture of a handsome young man standing with friends and smiling.  His demeanor was confident but humble, sincere and amiable.  I saw a wonderful person that I was glad to know.  It was a my son.

He has grown and matured, showing natural leadership skills that have been honed, shaped, and sharpened by the people in his life– at home of course- but specifically at school and at a church.

It was at that moment when I felt myself step back and realize that in a matter of twenty-four months he will graduate high school.  My time with him is nearly over.  And just twelve months after he graduates, his brother will wear a cap and gown.

In thirty-six months my season as Mom-on-call-twenty-four/seven will be ending.  Who said that was allowed?

I look at my sons while they are sleeping and remember when “just yesterday” I was rocking them to sleep and singing lullabies.  Or when I was teaching them to walk like the “big kids.”  I still see that precious bundle I brought home from the hospital.

I find myself praying a lot now.  Not in long quiet times, but in short bursts for the boys as they participate in sports, drive to their small group, serve at the church.  I pray that they continue to walk with God, serve others humbly and are grateful for the blessings God has poured out over their lives.

It is in that moment that I remind myself of some of my earliest prayers for the boys.

Father, thank you for entrusting these precious boys to me.  I pray they will know your plan for their lives and follow it with their whole hearts.  I pray they will see Jesus in me and know a life with Him is the best life to live. May they know you as their God and not just the God of their parents.  Thank you for loving them. Amen 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

