sticks and stones

Most of us have chanted the childhood statement:

Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me.

Those of us who are older know that the adage is quite false.  Words hurt, so do sticks and stones.  It’s a no-win situation.

Recently, a co-worker and I were talking about our new home and the process God has brought us through to get the home. As she listened she expressed her amazement at how God had directed our steps, the ways He “showed up and showed off” from the day we moved to Nebraska until the present.

As we talked I found myself growing stronger in my enthusiasm for what God is doing and how He is moving. Her excitement was contagious.

It reminded me of the Old Testament practice of building an altar to mark a place where God had done something amazing.  The altar wasn’t so much for God to have a place, but for the people to have a place to remember.  (See Joshua 4).

We are forgetful people. We tend to allow the present negative experiences blur the past positive experiences. We forget to celebrate all that God has done in the past which helps us trust Him for what He will do in the future.

As I stood with my friend celebrating God’s movement in my family’s life, we were really building an altar for all that God had done.

My stones of remembrance need to be built up and built on to help me see that whatever obstacles are in front of me are no match for the God of the Universe.

What are you doing?  Are you tearing down the things God has done in the past with your fear of the future? Or are you building an altar to remind yourself that God was faithful in the past and He will be faithful in the future.

Let us hold on to the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful. Hebrews 10:23

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

