What are you sowing?

As an “older” adult I find myself striving to surround myself with people who are positive, encouraging, supportive, and forgiving.  I have learned that how a person acts impacts those around them in ways that are not always overt.

But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peace-loving, gentle, compliant, full of mercy and good fruits, without favoritism and hypocrisy. And the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace by those who cultivate peace (James 3:17-18 HCSB).

I work in a non-Christian setting and while there are those who are believers near me, there are many more who are not.  I overhear sarcastic, biting comments about other people that are hurtful to me.  I recognize everyone has a bad day from time to time, but that does not mean it should become a way of life.

As the next generation grows into adulthood I wonder, how much sowing of discord will occur because of them? Sure we all know amazing, talented young men and women, but I also know we can sadly make a longer list of people who are more likely to stir up trouble, say hurtful things to make themselves seem bigger than they are, and in general enjoy the destruction they leave in their wake.

A wise youth leader once said that “What we leave in our wake is our legacy.”

I want what I sow and what I leave behind to be words that encourage, challenge-yes, but I want to leave behind those who have been built up by my words and actions to know how special, precious, loved, treasured, and prized they truly are to the world.

These are the seeds I want to plant in the hearts and minds of those around me.

What are you sowing?

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

