disappointment

In the past few weeks situations have come up where it looked promising, we were hopeful for a positive outcome and then slowly, little by little the situation crumbled.  We found ourselves surrounded by dust and crumpled hopes.  Another step forward, another step back.  We wondered if we were even moving at all?

Disappointment is not the enemy for us, allowing it to develop into a sense of hopelessness is the enemy.

Whenever a moment of disappointment comes it is an opportunity in disguise.  I can choose to wallow, whine, and pout that I didn’t get what I want or I can choose to ask God to show me the lesson I need to learn.  I am able to choose whether I want to grow through the disappointment or refuse to move from my situation until it goes “my way.” However, if I am wise I will remember Isaiah 55:8, “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, and your ways are not My ways.” This is the Lord’s declaration.

God knows my heart, my desires, my fears, failings, and frustration when things don’t go the way I think they are supposed to go.  I know that God’s plans are not my plans and His plans and purposes are so rich and full, and incredibly more than I could ask or imagine.

 Now to Him who is able to do above and beyond all that we ask or think according to the power that works in us— 21 to Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen. (Ephesians 3:19-21)

I will always face disappointment.  It’s part of life this side of Heaven. I also know that I can turn to God and find what I need to face that disappointment.  Psalm 31:24 says it best,  Be strong and courageous, all you who put your hope in the Lord. 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

