Muscles

As our family prepares for new challenges and opportunities, I realize just how blessed we are today. We are stronger in our family dynamics– relating parent to child, spouse to spouse, and sibling to sibling.

There are many who thought we were foolish to go forward in our move last year, many who do not understand the choices we have made and even sadly, those who have chosen to step away from us instead of lean into us because they did not understand.

I realized once again that while the decisions, choices, and even losses have been difficult, our faith is stronger.  We have watched God move in our lives when mountains seemed immovable and impassable He has shown us how to pray and have that mountain throw itself into the sea. We have climbed to the top and seen the Glory of God revealed in ways we could never have imagined when we stood at the base of the mountain.

The great heroes and heroines of the Bible were also men and women who faced incredible situations and found in their trials that God was big enough, He was faithful, and He was able to act in ways no mortal man could ever act. Kings and queens hearts were changed, nations were built or crumbled, men and women rose up as leaders and led their people through great difficulty. All of these experiences grew the Faith muscles of these men and women.

I think of all the people who have never faced severe challenges on their Faith Journey– never taken the risk to let go of the comfortable and familiar to take hold of God’s hand and be led in places they never could have imagined.  I am saddened for them.  They have lost out on seeing God stretch them and grow them into someone who could be used to do the mighty and amazing things God designed them to do.

When I get to Heaven — I don’t want God to look at me and say. “Well, you had great potential, too bad you never applied it.”  My prayer is that through all of the challenges I face I will grow stronger and braver for the next experience on my journey.

I want to get to Heaven and know that I have given everything I have, left it all on the field, and walked across the Finish line of Faith with nothing left.

The only way to do that is by building muscles of Faith.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Muscles

  1. You said it perfectly!! Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

