old-fashioned

As our family adjusts to living in the country again, we find ourselves having to remember how we used to do things.  My husband and I have decided to not have wi-fi/internet for the first month or so and it is interesting to see how often I will pick up my phone when I am bored to scroll through my Facebook newsfeed or check posts on Pinterest. It isn’t a bad habit, but I find myself with time spent and nothing to show for it.

So, I have decided to be old-fashioned and go back to reading books by my favorite authors like Shauna Niequist, who encourage and challenge me. I have started to journal again, for no one but me alone. A time to be still in my chaotic world.

I have not gone on an electronic fast officially, but I can see the merit in it.  Letting go of the constant buzzing of phones, laptops, tablets, and televisions to have empty hands to release the hurry and embrace the quiet.

I watch my teenagers with their phones, faces lit by the blue light of the display, texting friends, watching videos and scrolling time away.  This fast of sorts at our new house is reminding them that there are other things to do, productive things.  With hands empty of phones there are wood-working tasks being accomplished and soccer being played with our hammock as a make-shift goal.

My devotional reminded me of this verse in Psalm 37, it carried the nugget of truth I am finding in my simplicity.

Take delight in the Lord,
    and he will give you the desires of your heart. (v.4)

Being still is good for the spirit, the soul, and those around me.  I am grateful for this reminder today.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

