the artist

I am not an art expert, I like different pieces of work, different artists and periods, but I couldn’t specify one artist from another just by looking at his or her technique.  Of the pieces or artists I like, it isn’t so much the technique they used to create their piece, it’s the emotion I feel when I study it or see it.

Recently, an author described God as an artist, an idea that intrigues me.  I am familiar with the description of Creator, but an artist?

An artist experiences a passion for something or someone and responds to that passion by photographing, sketching, or painting the emotion he or she experiences.  I think of Dorothea Lange whose Depression-era photographs moved a nation, or the skill of Ansel Adams to capture the beauty of the wild regions of America.

The painting styles of Georgia O’Keefe, Vincent Van Gogh, George Seurat, and Edgar Degas have created emotions in those who study their works for decades and even centuries.  Those who study them extensively see the sweep of the brush stroke, the occasional fingerprint in the paint of the artist.  Each piece is unique, one-of-a-kind, never to be fully duplicated again.

The more I thought about God as an artist, the more the idea fits.  He created all things, trees, sun, moon, stars, mountains, oceans, fish, birds, animals, and people.  Each creation has its mark of the Creator, each item is unique, similar-but-one-of-a-kind, never to be fully duplicated again.

Scripture is clear, we are fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139:14).

And then there are these words from Isaiah 40:26, Lift up your eyes and look to the heavens: Who created all these? He who brings out the starry host one by one and calls forth each of them by name. Because of his great power and mighty strength, not one of them is missing.

And so many more passages, many in Isaiah, stating the Creator as amazing, incredible, and unsurpassed by anyone in the past or in the future.

The more I think of God as an artist, the more I like it.  Each one of us bear His signature, if only we would look to see it.  Such an amazing perspective.

everyone who is called by my name, whom I created for my glory, whom I formed and made.  (Isaiah 43:7).

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

