now no

As my twenty-fifth “birthday” approaches I am reminded of how far I have come in my relationship with God.  Much like the woman at the well in John 4, I felt that I was not deserving of joy and hope because of all the wrong I had done in life.  I could list all of the “bad” decisions and choices I had made and all the ways I had failed.  I felt so unworthy of anything positive.

And then, July 16th I had my own “meeting with Jesus at the well” and I realized I was worthy– worthy of His love.  I could receive His grace, healing, mercy, and forgiveness.

Since then, I have come to see the many layers and ways that Romans 8 has been proven true again and again… like waves covering the shore, I have been covered by this Grace.  Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death. (v. 1 & 2).

I have been set free.  Free from the hurt and shame, the sorrow, the guilt, and pain I have caused others and others have caused me.  

Just like the woman at the well who went running into her village calling out to her neighbors to come and meet the man who told her everything about her life — and loved her anyway –I have felt that lightness of being, the baggage and chains have been removed from my heart and soul and I now walk with my head held high.  

Not for what I have done, no, but what He has done for me.

“my chains are gone, I’ve been set free, my God, my Savior has ransomed me, and like a flood — His mercy rains, amazing love, amazing Grace.”

–Chris Tomlin–Amazing Grace (My Chains are Gone)

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

