on kittens and being found

Yesterday marked the twenty-fifth “birthday” of my walk with Christ.  It was a wonderful day spent with my husband and sons working on the house, visiting with a new friend at her home, and dreaming of ideas for our new home.  We traveled to a nearby town to see some sights and ended the day with dinner at a restaurant.  It was a great day.

Two nights ago a strong thunderstorm came through the area and tossed small branches around the yard, as well as bringing large puddles in low areas around the property.  When my younger son went to feed the neighbor’s cats in the morning, he found that the mother cat and kittens were nowhere to be seen in the barn.

This mother is skittish after being picked on by another mother cat on the property, so she has sought shelter in the barn.  Her two kittens, a charcoal gray and a calico are usually visiting.  After a while the mother appeared in the barn window with her gray kitten, mewing for the calico.

I recognized the sound and went looking for the calico, too.  I looked in the rafters of the barn, in the fields behind, as well as in the machinery stored in the bays.  No luck.  All during the day’s excursions my mind would begin to wander to where the kitten may be found.

As the twilight fell last night, I held the gray kitten while his mother went hunting for dinner and hope and prayed that the calico would be found.  I knew it was part of farm life, life is found and lost all the time, but I hoped that she would be found alive.

I asked our son to text me and let me know if the calico was found, dead or alive, today and shortly after I arrived at work I received a text, “I found the calico.” I asked her condition and found myself smiling and relieved that she was alive.

And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders and goes home. Then he calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost [cat].’ (Luke 15:5)

This kitten was like me, twenty-five years ago, lost, alone, struggling to find my way, wanting safety, a place to rest, and a place to call home.  I knew there was somewhere I could go and experience these things, but I never knew the joy I felt would be experienced by my Heavenly Father as well.

I had been lost and now, I was found.

 I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent.

(Luke 15:6)

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

