When trust is broken

Growing up I was taught to never lie, lying was in a sense, a form of murder.  When I lied I was “killing” the trust that was built between myself and the other person. Even when it was difficult and the outcome of my truth-telling may get me in trouble, I learned it was better to tell the truth than to lie. 

Fast forward thirty plus years and now as an adult, I find myself living in a culture where it’s ok to tell white lies, to omit information, and to reframe situations to make them seem better or different than they are in reality. 

The wall of Trust between myself and some others in my life has cracks in it. Some have been created by others, some by me.  They could be small enough in the beginning, “Yes, you look good in that outfit” or “No, I don’t mind that you forgot that important date again.” Little lies, meant to make the other person not feel bad.  But little by little the bricks that build the bridge of trust between myself and someone else are replaced by bricks that build a wall of resentment.

I start to resent the hurt the person causes me and I stop reaching out to them, I find some other way, some other person, to meet my needs or wants.  

The other person also may seek other ways to feed his or her needs instead of facing the broken places that need to be healed, the broken heart, the pieces of broken dreams and desires.  The broken relationships that were originally  sought to fill the hurt places caused by someone else. 

The reality is, no one, no thing, no action, can replace, can heal those pains and injuries but Jesus.  No spouse, no child, no affair, or anything else is going to bring the healing and wholeness that is deeply craved and desired.  

Only Jesus can make you whole.  Only Jesus can set you free.  

Only Jesus. 

Proverbs 3:5-6, 8 Trust in the Lord with all your heart,and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. It will be healing to your flesh and refreshment to your bones. 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

