if I had a million dollars

I was challenged today by someone dear to me to dream–not just little dreams, to dream big.  “Haven’t you ever thought, if I had a million dollars– I’d do this, and this, and this?”

I stopped in my tracks. No, I never had.  Maybe as a little kid I did dream like that, but not as an adult.  It was impractical, it wouldn’t happen, so why bother?

As a little girl, I remember reading a book about minerals and mining, including mining diamonds.  There was a picture of diamonds and jewelry that was so beautiful.  I was just learning about God and how He answered prayers, so I prayed, asking Him to give me some of the diamonds from the book. I ended up falling asleep and when I woke up there were no diamonds.

I figured I didn’t deserve them or that God didn’t want me to have them.  Somehow though, the idea that I shouldn’t ask for things like that was planted in my spirit.  Flash forward nearly forty years and I am still like that little child, believing the lie that I cannot dream of or ask for crazy, wild, big things.

When I was challenged this morning that feeling struck me again. Don’t dream, why bother?

A still, quiet voice whispered a counter-thought in my ear, “for every animal of the forest is mine, and the cattle on a thousand hills” (Psalm 50:10). 

My God owns everything. Yet, I have been living my life like I have to create my own things and make something out of the scraps around me. Is that really how the Child of the One True King should live?

Now, I don’t have the power, the authority, or the ability to do these things. But God does.   And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus (Philippians 4:19).

I don’t need diamonds, they have long passed in importance, but I do need to remember that I can dream– and dream big, because my God is big.  I do need to embrace the possibility of what could be.  And if it’s worth pursuing, see what steps need to be taken to make that happen.

If I had a million dollars, I would…

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

