the game reel

My dad spent much of my early life being a high school football coach.  I spent many Friday nights cheering for the team, playing with the other coach’s children and learning the cheers for victory from the sidelines.

One of the most important parts of the football season happened on Sunday afternoon at my house.  After church, the team would gather in our den to watch the game reels to see what did and didn’t work the previous Friday night.  The intent was to celebrate and continue doing what went right and to figure out what went wrong in a play so it wasn’t repeated.

This morning I realized I often play a game reel of my own.  I review the different things I have done, the things done well yes, but most of the time I review the ways I have blown an opportunity.  But it doesn’t stop there, just like a irate coach I berate myself for not catching the mistake and fixing it.  This kind of thinking, when not stopped, can feel like it is on an endless loop.  It happens at night when I am trying to settle in and sleep.  It happens when I have a moment of stillness and I let my mind wander.

It is destructive.  It is debilitating. It is wrong.

When God looks at me, yes, He does see my failures– but here’s the difference– He sees them through the blood shed on the Cross by His Son.  He sees them redeemed.  He sees me redeemed.

God sees me as I was, as I am, and more importantly, as I will be.  He is the God of the past, present, and future– all at once– and that is how He sees me.

Scripture is full of verses that remind us because of Christ the past is gone, the new has come.  We are a new creation (2 Corinthians 5:17). Thankfully, every day we live isn’t on a Groundhog Day  repeat, but instead His mercies are new every morning (Lamentations 3:22-23). Or the verse from Psalm 103:12; as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us. 

Isaiah 43:18-19 says it best, “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past.
19 See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.”

My game reel must be seen through the eyes of God: His mercies, His grace, His redemption.  The enemy will always try to show me where I fumble, but with Jesus as my team Captain, I will always be victorious.

But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ (1 Corinthians 15:57).

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the game reel

  1. Pingback: calling out | wildmercies

  2. Pingback: calling out | wildmercies

Leave a Reply

