calling out

During the past twelve months or so, God has been challenging me a lot.  In good ways, healthy, healing ways, in ways long overdue.

I have been challenged to trust more, forgive more, love myself more, and give grace to myself more.  Please understand, I am able to give these things to everyone else without flinching.  As to myself… well, not so much.

As I mentioned in the game reel,  I have been stuck on an endless loop trying to fix the things I have done wrong and seeking a time machine to go back and fix it. Today, I was reminded that God isn’t the kind of god who dwells in the past– He doesn’t ask us to sit in our mess until we make it perfect– especially when the “mess” has been “cleaned up” by His Son’s sacrifice.

So, I began thinking about when God says, Leave it.

Abraham, then Abram, was told to leave what he knew to go to a land God would show him (Genesis 12:1).

The disciples left their nets when Jesus told them, to follow Him instead (Matthew 4:13).

Paul was on the road to Damascus when he encountered Jesus, Who challenged him to go a different way (Acts 9).

Each person expected to go in one direction, but God called them out to go a different way.

He told them to leave things where they were and follow Him to new things, new experiences, new adventures.

All they had to do was trust and follow.

What if God is drawing you, calling you to bigger, more incredible things, than what you can see?  What if you are splashing in a puddle when He wants you to be sailing on the ocean?  What if you are making mud pies and He wants you to be making sculptures for His glory?

What if you are called to be more through Christ– if only you would allow Him to move through you?

Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the works themselves. 12 Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. 13 And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. John 14:11-13

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

