the next thing

Part of the process with living in a house under construction is that there is never a room that is untouched.  Each room has a light layer of plaster dust, clutter, piles of tools and items to be used in the construction process. It can be difficult for me, as I like everything to have order, a place to put each item, and the sense of accomplishment that something is fully done.

Nothing about construction says done. Everything about it says doing, in process, not yet completed, will be accomplished someday-just not today.  It is a process that stretches my strength, my grace, and definitely my patience.

There have been great changes to the house already though; touches I appreciate, beauty found in the rough places.  I also know that ultimately, I can only do so much at a time.  Wash, clean, toss, repair, put away, put aside; whatever I do, I must come to the point of handing it off.

My favorite place to hand things off is giving them to God.  Today’s devotional talked about doing what I can, handing God the rest–especially what I cannot do, and then picking up the next thing I can do and keep going forward.

So much of my time has been wasted wishing for the time machine to “fix it all” and I am learning daily, to do the next thing and trust God with it all in the process.

I don’t know your situation right now, maybe you are making a major change in life, maybe you are slowing down, or even preparing for a faster pace.  Whatever it is, my prayer for you is that you will do what you can, give God what you cannot not, and pick up the next thing.

It may be in the next thing that you find your biggest blessing.

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ. Ephesians 1:3

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the next thing

  1. L. Dean Hufsey says:

    Hi Gretchen and family: Always enjoy your encouraging posts! So encouraging ! I know it is a lot of work, but when you can sit back and enjoy it, and know that the ‘sweat equity’ was worth it and reflect back on all the gifts and talents that the Lord has bestowed All the ‘menfolks’ in your home, you will find that the handiwork they have displayed, along side of you, is immeasurable and something you will always cherish !
    Keep us posted on the progress !!

    Bless you all. Miss You.

    BTW, My oldest, Loretta will be 55 on her birthday, August 9. (this is Isabella’s mother)….been reflecting some today…..as we all do and asking, “where has the time gone?” But, I have so much to be Thankful for.
    More, BTW, Isabella is 10 now….she is so happy to have 2 digits in her numerical age! Also, she was placed in the ‘gifted program’ in her school…she’s in 3rd grade but taking 4th and 5th grade level courses. 80% of her instruction is in Spanish… and she loves school. All the family loves her so much and we are proud of her (as well as the other 8). I am so Thankful we all are. Her birth mother, being 17 years old, being illiterate, unmarried and having no job skills could have chosen abortion, but she chose life and took Isabella directly to a foster home when she was born. We are all so thankful for this teenager’s wisdom in ‘choosing life’. I get all choked up when I think about this too much !!!

Leave a Reply

