beauty in the box

As I continue on my Faith Journey, God continues to work within me.  Yes, I am whole because of my belief in Christ and His resurrection from the dead (Romans 10:9); but, and hear me out– I am not sure yet what I will become.  It’s that wild, un-explainable fact of Christianity– I am already, but I am not yet (Romans 8:25, 1 John 3:2).

As I seek help to become who I was created to be in God’s perfect plan, I find myself feeling like a child who had been given a big box of interlocking blocks– the picture on the box shows an incredible image… But sadly, the enemy has taken the instructions and torn them up and left only remnants behind.

The enemy doesn’t want me to remember that I have been created in God’s image (Genesis 1:27). Instead, the enemy wants me to think of myself as someone who isn’t worthy, doesn’t deserve what I have, or that I am a waste of space (John 8:44).

But, if I really am created by God in His image, with a perfect plan and purpose, then I will one day be able to take each piece out of the box and put it together into something amazing.  I will not be able to do it alone- this Faith Journey is not one for a Lone Ranger, it is a journey for a community.

Your community can be your loved ones, friends and family. Sometimes for a season, your community may include a counselor who will help you understand your history and your present to help you walk wholly into your future.

No matter what, each of us has a role to play. Sometimes we are going to be the Encourager, sometimes we are going to need the encouraging to continue on the path. Only by seeking help from our community will we ever truly see the beauty in the box of blocks.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

