in the cards

Ever since I was a new believer I have written down different verses that challenge and encourage me. I write verses on my folders, on scraps of paper, in devotionals, in my journals,  with whiteboard markers on my mirrors; wherever I will see the verses and be reminded of the truth in the Scripture.

Over the course of the past twenty-five years, I have found myself collecting index cards to write these truths on and to carry around with me.  I have these index cards taped to cabinets, to the window by the kitchen sink, to the bathroom mirror. Places I will see each day to help me find the courage to seek God when things are difficult, as well as praise Him for the way He carries me through.

When I participated in Beth Moore Bible studies I found that she often included Scripture cards in her studies as well.  The cards had verses like, Without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him (Hebrews 11:6).

Or this verse from Isaiah 61:1, The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me, because the Lord has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners…

Each one reminding us of the Bible study topic, but also who we were through Christ.

I started thinking, each one of us receives “cards” from people throughout our day, words of encouragement if we are lucky, but too often they are words that are hurtful, destructive, and sometimes out-right lies. What would it look like if we turned in the “bad” cards and replaced them with Biblical truths?

Would we remember that we are fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139:14)?  Would we find courage and comfort in the verse,  Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed, says the Lord, who has compassion on you (Isaiah 54:10)?

Again and again the definition of encouragement comes to mind.  The literal definition is to pour courage into someone.  How many of us need courage, strength, wisdom, truth, and the reminder of God’s amazing love poured into each day?

I think it’s time to take the truth in the Word and carry it on cards with us.  As we read the truth in the cards it will then be transferred to our hearts.  And we all need a bit more of His Truth poured in there each day.

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

