names

I like to study my family tree and family histories.  I love the stories, the connections, the depth and breadth of how a family is woven together.  One of the things about family trees are the common and uncommon names given to each child.  Each person who bears that name bears the image of the family tree, the heritage of those who shared the same names in the past.

I started thinking of the names God bears, too.  Elohim is Hebrew and one of the most common uses in the Old Testament, the word means “God.”  Another word I have often heard and used is Adonai which means “My Lord.”  One of my favorite names of God is El Shaddai, which means “All Sufficient One” as God is sufficient to care for me and for all of my needs.  He is worthy of my trust, my faith, and of being followed.

Each one of these names of God shows some of His character, Who He is, how He moves and works in each of our lives.  When we know the character of God, we can see why we can trust Him, His purposes, His plans, even when we don’t understand why He is moving in a certain direction.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

