silencing the static

As our days here on earth continue to be filled with chatter, criticism, foolish conversation, and fluff, I struggle to hear anything.  It’s like someone turned up the static on the station and I cannot get a clear signal.

I battle daily with loving intentionally, looking past the surface to see what is going on in the spirit of the speaker.  I get upset when my words don’t match my meaning and someone is hurt by them.  I want to be understood, but also to understand, to be heard, but also to listen.  I want to know it is safe for me and for the other person to be honest. I want to accept and to be accepted.

My heart is a mess every day.  I cannot control it without daily connection with God. I hold grudges, revisit past hurts which doesn’t allow them to heal.  I feel my selfishness rise like the tide inside of me,  I want, I need, I, I, I.  

My struggles are not new.  We all struggle, strain, and battle with the desire to be better than we are now.  I cannot listen to the world, it changes like the winds and never seems to light on the same thing twice. I need to know what God thinks so I can silence the world’s static. How can I grow beyond where I am into the person God created me to become?

Therefore, be imitators of God, as dearly loved children.  And walk in love, as the Messiah also loved us and gave Himself for us, a sacrificial and fragrant offering to God (verses 1-2 HCSB).

God’s example doesn’t show “I” very much. In the days of Jesus’ ministry He didn’t say, I want, I need, I, I, I— Jesus spoke of God, Heaven, and the way God designed us and the world around us.  He spoke of the Love of God, the depth and richness of a life lived abiding in the Spirit.

A life lived abiding in the Spirit is a life lived outside the static.  A life lived listening to the whisper of God in my ear as I wake each morning.  A life lived honoring the promises I have made out of joy, not out of duty.  A life lived showing love to those around me in ways they will receive, not in ways I want to show it.

Suddenly, I can hear clearly.  I find direction, understanding, mercy, grace, love and forgiveness.  My head is clear and so is my heart.

Abba Father, oh how I need you.  I strive to be the perfect wife and mother and blow it shortly after my feet hit the floor in the morning.  Father, I pray I will seek You first, knees on the floor first thing in the morning.  I pray my first words will be spoken to You so that the words that follow will be filled to overflowing with Your Sweet Spirit.  I cannot walk this journey alone and I don’t want to.  Like Moses, I do not want to budge from where I am unless I know the I AM is leading my steps.  

Amen. 

I pray for you to join me on my knees each morning.  Find a chair in a quiet place, a few minutes to tune in to Heaven.  Listen for God, what is His plan, His purpose for the day? Let Him lead you as He lead the Israelites, lighting the way to walk, guiding your steps (Psalm 63). You will never be sorry.

Commit your way to the Lord;
trust in Him, and He will act… (Psalm 37:5).

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

