before I forget…

My mom and I live in different states and don’t talk as often.  When we do talk, we have a mental laundry list of events, anecdotes, and other pieces of interest to each of us.  From asking if we knew about a recent engagement, to someone’s failing health, we share it all.  Often, our story will start with, “Before I forget…”

I started thinking about this phrase and how it applies to so much more than my chats with my mom.  What else do I need to remember- and not forget?

The Bible has 226 different places where the word “remember” is used.  Sometimes it is God “remembering” someone or the nation of Israel.  Sometimes it is a person remembering another person or event that God has commanded them to remember.

But, the thing about it is that in Scripture, if someone is remembering, then the next step is they are acting.  The memory lights the match and then the match catches fire and an action on God’s behalf occurs that cannot be stopped.

Throughout the Bible the steps are clear, first God remembers, then God acts.

What if I started living this way?

What if my first step was to remember– remember to share a memory, a kind word with someone who is struggling, remember to honor a promise I had made? What would my life be like?

God remembers and then God acts.  Before I forget, that is the key. We remember His faithfulness in the past to help us trust Him in the future.  We remember the ways He has corrected us, to hopefully change our direction.  We remember the Amazing Grace He offers to us through Jesus’ death on the Cross and we seek Him for wisdom and direction.

Let us remember and then act– before we forget.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

