Yes

No, I am not able to do that, there might be risks.

No, I can’t do that, it might cost money and we are on a budget.

No, I can’t do that, I have never done anything like that.

No, I might make a mistake.

No, I might fail.

No, I am too scared.

No, I am too old.

No, I don’t have the right tools.

No, I don’t know how.

I am tired of saying No.   I say it all the time, in all of the ways I have listed above. I have come to realize that I may actually be saying no to the Holy Spirit. God whispers all the time to all of us, each day.  The question comes– are we listening?

Are we listening to the Holy Spirit encourage us, correct us, prompt us?  Are we being prompted to go forward with something that we’ve never done before?  Are we being challenged to change habits to something better?  Are we being encouraged to love someone, serve someone, forgive someone?

When will we say, yes?

Yes, God, I will go where you are prompting me to go.

Yes, God, I will trust You to meet my needs to accomplish what You are calling me to do.

Yes, God, I will trust that since You have called me to it, You will lead me through it.

Yes, God, I will follow, trusting that You know more about the inner-workings of my body and all it can actually accomplish because You designed it.

Yes, God, I will do that very thing that scares me, because I have the Power of the Holy Spirit in me.

Yes, God.

Yes, God.

Yes, God.

If the God I claim to follow is the God who is calling me to do something, then I need to trust Him enough to know He has it all figured out.

Which means, I can say, YES.

…. because I know whom I have believed, and am convinced that he is able to guard what I have entrusted to him until that day (2 Timothy 1:12 NIV).

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

