Jesus

Over the past weekend story after story has come across the news with attacks, destruction, natural disasters, and loss of life.

My heart is overwhelmed, I cannot hold in the waves of bewilderment, sorrow, and resolve hit me.

I am broken by the hate, by the brutality, by the hearts of the attackers. While many cry for justice and revenge, I know that hate meeting hate will not result in love, mercy, or forgiveness. I must find a way to take my sorrow and bring it into accordance with Jesus’ command to forgive.

My only cry is from my very center– Jesus.  Jesus, Jesus.  

I am reminded of a song I would sing at church in years past.  It is my cry for me and for the world.  It is my prayer for my heart and for yours.

Jesus, draw me close
Closer, Lord, to You
Let the world around me fade away

Jesus, draw me close
Closer, Lord, to You
For I desire to worship and obey

Jesus, draw me close
Closer, Lord, to You
Let the world around me fade away

Jesus, draw me close
Closer, Lord, to You
For I desire to worship and obey

~~Rick Founds

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

