good

Over the past few days I have woken up in the middle of the night, unable to sleep, tossing and turning, trying to find that “perfect position” to fall back asleep.  It hasn’t worked.  I find myself with my eyes closed, but sleep evading me.

Then quietly, like a radio that sounds far away, a word comes to my heart, then another and another.  Until I find myself resting in the words, even if I am unable to sleep.

Good, good Father, You’re a good, good Father, it’s Who You are, it’s Who You are..

These words pour over my spirit, bringing peace to my restlessness.  Filling the cracks caused by struggles in the day, helping me to exhale all the pent up breath I seem to hold during my daily activities.

I find myself resting, like a child against her strong father’s chest, able to trust, able to feel secure, safe, and comforted.

The song continues on…

I am loved by You, it’s who I am, it’s who I am…

This world is full of so much pain, so much anger, hate, and evil.  I cannot wrap my heart around the warped thinking, the wrong thinking and actions that cause destruction.  It can make me shake my head and wonder what we are going to do and where we can turn for help.

Then I remember the chorus of the song again,

You’re a good good Father
It’s who You are, it’s who You are, it’s who You are
And I’m loved by You
It’s who I am, it’s who I am, it’s who I am

Cause You are perfect in all of Your ways
You are perfect in all of Your ways
You are perfect in all of Your ways to us

You are perfect in all of Your ways
Oh, You are perfect in all of Your ways
You are perfect in all of Your ways to us*

God is still good, even when the world is full of evil and pain.  There is never going to be peace without Him. And that is how I can sleep at night.  Resting in the Heavenly, strong arms of my Good, Good Father.

* “Good, Good Father” by Chris Tomlin /Writers: Pat Barrett and Tony Brown

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment