pursued

Of all the things that God has done in our lives, giving us life, the beauty of nature, relationships, literature, music, the feeling of a good night sleep, deep belly laughs with friends, a good cup of tea– of  all of the things He has filled our lives with the one thing that wrecks me every time is Grace.

It is the one thing that separates Christianity from all other belief systems in the world.  We cannot earn it, we cannot run out of it, we cannot run away from it.

Grace pursues us.

From the moment I was created until that July day in 1990, I was pursued, relentlessly pursued by the Grace of God.  He called out to me in the prayers of my grandmothers, in the love given to me by friends, in the unknown prayers of dear friends who understood that Amazing Grace.  God pursued me in the compassion of those who met me and saw me as a Child of God, lost but not a loser.

God loved me when I ran from Him and He loved me when I ran to Him.  He called out to me, He sought my heart, He knew my worth when I thought I was worthless.

I am reminded of the old poem, “The Hound of Heaven” By Francis Thompson  (1859–1907).  The speaker talks of all the ways he ran from God and yet, in the end, finds that what he was running from was actually the very Love and very Grace he sought.

Dear one, we are pursued by the amazing Love, the amazing Grace of Heaven.  Just like the father of the Prodigal Son in Luke 15, God watches for us, seeks us and will run to us, just like we will run to Him.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

