who do you love?

Jesus, 

Challenge me to look into the eyes of those who are different from me in looks, beliefs, and life choices to love where other people have hated.  To remember the love I offer to those around me is a reflection of the Love God has given to me.  If I am compelled to love because of Christ’s love (2 Corinthians 5:14), then that means those I claim as a brother and sister, and those who don’t yet know the Amazing Love of Christ are to receive Your Love from me.  

“In very dire situations the Kingdom of God can be made manifest,” Bill Hybels. This Truth can be manifested through giving food, clothing, shelter, mercy, kindness, friendship, building relationships with those who have not experienced the Kingdom’s kind of Love.

We cannot just choose to love the people who are similar to us as believers.  We are to impact the world for the Love of Christ, for the Mission of Reconciliation, for the purpose of drawing others to Christ.

Meet me where I am Jesus, and bring where I am more like You and less like me.

Amen.

Whoever claims to love God yet hates a brother or sister is a liar. For whoever does not love their brother and sister, whom they have seen, cannot love God, whom they have not seen. And he has given us this command: Anyone who loves God must also love their brother and sister (1 John 4:20:21).

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

