Do tell

This past week we went to visit my family in my home state. It has been over eighteen months since we left in a whirlwind of hurt and confusion to settle in a new place and start over. 

While we were in Illinois, we went back to our “home” church to visit.  It was a powerful and emotional time to reconnect with those we had not seen in so long.  

As we caught up, I found myself sharing the blessings of our journey.  The different ways God showed up and directed our steps.  The different ways we were finding healing in our new state. 

Each time I spoke of the ways God showed up and showed off that He truly was in charge and cared about every concern we had, I discovered my heart filling up further and further with hope.  

I was reminded that God really had been there. He really had provided for us and blessed up with a new home, new jobs, a new church, and new friends.  I could point to the way we felt like Job in the end of his story after living so long in the first part.  

My husband and I have talked about names for our new farm and in the process he told me of the name he thought of for our house–The Job House. 

Where we had once left Illinois with nothing, having lost jobs, and no longer being able to afford to live there– now we stood on the other side, restored double-fold for all that we had lost.  

When we share what God is doing and has done it blesses the listener, but it often blesses the speaker again.  When we share our story we also remember the God we love and serve. 

So what is your story? Where has God been moving? 

Do tell.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

