out of darkness

Today is the day. Today is the day that means more than December 25th, December 31st, or any other day on the calendar.  Today is Good Friday.  A day that marks when all that Hell and Death had stacked against us comes to nothing.

My Jesus hung on a Cross to die for me.  He gave His life for mine.  He paid my debt.  He bore all the shame and all the sorrow, all the pain, all the wrongs I had done and all the wrongs done to me. He took every single thing with Him when He died that day.  

He took it and put it at His Father’s feet and said, “I am paying for her. I will take her punishment, I will take her separation from You so that one day, she will have the freedom to be restored to You.”  And then He died.  He went into Hell, He took all the brutality, the horror of being completely separated from His Heavenly Father so that one day, I could come to God and ask to be made new.

Jesus’ death that day, entering into the full darkness of Hell and all that the enemy of God could hurl at Him would be inflicted on Him– not me.

Who does that?  Who takes all the unheard of, indescribable pain on Him so I can be freed?  Even when I hadn’t even been born yet?  Even when my great-great-great-grandmother Sophia hadn’t been born yet?

God does.

I stand on this side of Resurrection Sunday, whole, redeemed, loved, freed, and restored to my Heavenly Father, God of the Universe all because Jesus hung on that Cross and I accepted the payment He made for me that day.

The song running through my mind today is told from this point-of-view.  I am no longer in the darkness, I am in the Light.  I am clean.  I am free.

Marvelous Light by Charlie Hall

I once was fatherless,
a stranger with no hope;
Your kindness wakened me,
Awakened me, from my sleep

Your love it beckons deeply,
a call to come and die.
By grace now I will come
And take this life, take Your life.

Sin has lost it’s power,
death has lost it’s sting.
From the grave You’ve risen
VICTORIOUSLY!

[Chorus]
Into marvelous light I’m running,
Out of darkness, out of shame.
By the cross you are the truth,
You are the life, you are the way

My dead heart now is beating,
My deepest stains now clean.
Your breath fills up my lungs.
Now I’m free. Now I’m free!

Lift my hands and spin around,
See the light that I have found.
Oh the marvelous light
Marvelous light

Lift my hands and spin
See the light within

Songwriters: HINDALONG, STEVE J.
Marvelous Light lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group
About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

