the feast of crumbs

She climbed into the truck and saw a plastic bag on the floor with a half-eaten roll in it. She reached for it, thinking, “I could eat these left-overs. There are still edible, still in the wrapper.” Her husband told her to put down the bag, it was trash, that was why it was on the floor.

She struggled with letting the bag go.  Somehow, she thought it was all she deserved, all she was allowed to eat. The left-overs and cast offs of others.

Her husband pointed to the sandwich he had purchased for her to eat. The sandwich was her favorite kind, still in the wrapper, complete, uneaten, waiting for her. She opened it and ate the sandwich happily.

God leaned in and whispered to her, Why did you think you only deserved the crumbs? The left-overs, the trash? You are my child and you have been invited to My table. The daughter of the King does not eat crumbs.  I have prepared a feast for you.

Her heart swelled.  “Oh Father, forgive me.  I am not a beggar. I am loved, I am cared for, I am precious, I am treasured by You. You provide good things for me, I just need to trust You for them.”

How many times have I looked at the floor for the crumbs to eat, instead of believing I had a place at the table with the God I love?

Oh best Beloved, when we accept Christ we are changed.  We are no longer scraping on the floor.  Just as Cinderella was transformed from rags to princess, so too, are we transformed by the amazing love of Christ.

Declare with me, brother and sister, “No more crumbs.  I have been invited to the Feast. I am a Child of God.”

Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows (James 1:17).

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

