Therefore

When I was in high school I had to study geometry.  I am a word-person, not a number person.  Geometry was an ordeal as I worked to grasp the concepts and theories being taught.  One thing that did stick with me was the concept of “therefore.”

For example:

x + 1 =6

x = 6-1

therefore x = 5

The concept of therefore in geometry is that it is a logical argument or uses deductive reasoning to calculate the answer to a problem.  It’s the ultimate “if /then” statement.

Paul uses this same thinking when he writes to the believers in Rome.

Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ,  through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. (Romans 5:1-2).

When we understand our desperate need for God in our lives, we will hit our knees and accept the amazing love and grace Heaven offers. It’s that simple. The day I realized just how messed up I had made my life, I slid off the bed and hit my knees, overwhelmed with God’s goodness, grace, mercy, and the incredible salvation offered to me because of Jesus.

I knew I couldn’t reach the level of “good enough” for Heaven. I needed Jesus.  I still do, every day, every hour, every minute. My anxiety has manifested itself in some crazy ways lately and I have found the strength to breathe again because I cry out to God. Only through His hands can I find the peace Paul talks about in Romans 5.

Since I accepted Christ in 1990, I have a peace with God that I never, ever, not not ever, could have had prior to that day. I don’t have to go to pastor, priest, altar, or idol to present myself and hope someone will hear me.

I go to the Source. I have been “justified through faith” — through Christ it is just-as-if-I’d never sinned. I am clean, whole, restored, blessed, and have a peace I cannot even describe.

Each day I get to choose, what will I embrace- the fears of an unknown future, or the faith in a known God?

I choose to embrace my Faith and therefore, I will have peace.

What will you choose?

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

