TGIF

This week has been a struggle for me. Waking up to the alarm made me yearn for Saturday. Fridays for many, signal that it is time to exhale, to relax, to let go of the stress and struggle brought on by the daily schedules Monday through Friday. We all know the mantra, Thank God it’s Friday.We say it, we post it, we call it out to each other as we leave our job at the end of the day.

What if we looked at our salvation the same way? What if we said, TGIF, but instead we meant Thank God it’s Forever. We don’t have to worry that we will lose it, have it revoked, or wonder if we ever really have it?

As my anxiety is slowly unraveled through counseling, I find myself learning more and more about the fears, many of them irrational, that have plagued me in my life. The fear of graduating high school which kept me up at night for weeks– even though I was a “B” student. The fear of never finding a good job, never getting married.  Never hearing from God.  Never following through with a task given to me.

One thing I have never feared is the loss of my salvation. When I accepted Christ that summer of 1990 I felt released from the trying, the failing, the merit-badge winning. I no longer needed to try to win God’s love or His mercy, it was just given to me.

 For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life (John 3:16). The verse doesn’t say God would only love me if I followed a ten-step plan, or became a missionary to some far away country. It says He loved the world- which includes me- and He gave Jesus in place to give me eternal life.

I don’t have to renew my membership each year. I don’t have to worry that I will lose out on something because I didn’t upgrade my position.  I am a child of God — ever since that day– and I will be forever.

So, today TGIF doesn’t mean, Thank God It’s Friday, for me, it will always mean–

Thank God It’s Forever!

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

