glasses

When I was a young girl I found myself squinting at the blackboard from the back row. It wasn’t until fourth grade that I finally received glasses.  I could see clearly for the first time.

I have since “graduated” to contacts, but each night when I take them out to clean them, I am unable to see much of anything. Sure I see shapes, but nothing has clarity, nothing is as it really looks.

Recently author and speaker, Christine Caine, spoke at my home church.  She challenged that when we look at others and objectify them, categorize them, or dismiss them we are not using our eyes the way God designed them to be used. We are looking inward, when God designed our eyes to look outward.

“We are so obsessed with looking at ourselves, that we don’t see a lost and a broken world. We are so obsessed at looking at how things are going to impact us and effect us personally that we don’t see.”

Our eyes were meant to see people as who they are- created in the image of God, precious in His sight, and worth seeing as the treasures He declares us to be.

We as the Church, have been called to see the lost and hurting, not to ignore them.  If we ignore them the enemy will be all to happy to see them and continue to attack them one way or another.

May we put on the glasses, ask Jesus to help us see, to reach those who are lost. It’s time for them to be found.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

