thrown away

In the past two weeks I have watched families hold newborns and let go of loved ones. I have read loving tributes and wondered how the survivors were going to continue without their parents’ wisdom to guide them. I have wondered how the new parents were going get enough sleep and if they ever knew they could love a tiny person so deeply.

These events have made me think. It’s time to clean. I am getting rid of the things that I have carried for too long. Hurts, pain, sadness, strife, regrets, shame, guilt, and anger.

It’s time to throw away the feigned injuries that are really just an inconvenience.  It’s time to be receptive to the words that correct our behavior and adjust our paths.

When we are brutally honest, we are only inconvenienced from time to time, but the people in our lives, they are precious. With us for only a moment and then gone, we can choose to allow the small things be seen through the fun-house mirrors as something big. Or we can throw away the drama of hurt and let go of what doesn’t matter and hold on to what does.

Words spoken in hurt, fear, or anger must be seen through eyes of Grace. I can either be the victim of imaginary injuries or the victor of real relationships. I can choose to hold grudges, or choose to throw them away so that my arms are open to hold close those who matter.

Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you (Ephesians 4:31-32).

It’s up to me. And it’s up to you. How will you respond? What will you throw away?

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to thrown away

  1. Peg Losey says:

    I wise women you are!😉

    Thrown Away – this message is working on my heart today and something I will continue to do. Thank you for sharing.

    Peg Losey

    >

Leave a Reply

