Who do you think you are?

Many songs on the radio are about how we perceive ourselves. Are we guilty? Are we flawless? Are we without hope? Are we victors? Do we see our worth based on the magazines, television shows, movies? The words of others? Do we know who we are?

As I continue through my counseling, I am seeing things about myself that I don’t like, but I am also seeing things I never ever, ever, imagined about myself. I am seeing what my husband has said all along, that I have value and worth. That I matter.

I know that God is not a merciless judge waiting to declare my sentence. I know that in my head and I know that in my heart. The difference is that there is a whisper in my ear that sounds much like my own voice, telling me I am broken, unworthy, a failure. It is the voice of my past being drudged up by the enemy. Only he would bring up the past that Jesus has erased.

Contrast those distorted thoughts with these verses:

I delight greatly in the Lord;
    my soul rejoices in my God.
For he has clothed me with garments of salvation
    and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness,
as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest,
    and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels (Isaiah 61:10 bold mine).

God has clothed me in His righteousness. I am not the disaster I used to be- Jesus took those things to the Cross and then to grave. When He rose victorious over death, He left my sins in the grave. They are dead and I am alive in Christ.

Who do I think I am? I am a perfected work-in-progress. I am perfected because of Christ, I am a work-in-progress because I am on this side of Heaven.

God has an incredible love for me, I am learning to accept that love for me as the reality of who I am. I am priceless, precious, valued, and treasured by God. My task is to embrace this in my life. It’s the Truth of who I am.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

