leave it alone

In the past couple weeks I managed to come in contact with poison ivy. I don’t know where it was, but I can tell you where it is. On my face, my arms, my waist, my legs, my feet. There isn’t a place that doesn’t itch mercilessly. I have used tubes of anti-itch cream, had steroid shots, ice packs, you name it to try to stop the itching.

One of the biggest pieces of advice I received was, “Do not scratch with your nails.” I understand the reasoning, but sometimes nothing else will take the itch away except a scratch.

Every time I begin to scratch I hear, Leave it alone. Don’t scratch, you’ll make it worse. Yet, I succumb.

When it comes to the things that are nailed to the Cross; the junk we carried, the regrets, the shame, sometimes we go back and take it off the Cross and hold it. We turn it around in our hands, maybe hold it close because it’s so familiar. When we do this, it begins to fill our minds again with the pre-Grace life we led.

We need to learn to leave it alone. It is nailed to the Cross for a reason. It was meant to stay there. Not be taken down again and again, leave it alone.

Tell a child to leave alone the shiny toy, the chocolate cake, and what does the child hear? Play with the shiny toy, eat the chocolate cake.

We have a broken sense of listening when it comes to things we want to do versus what we are told not to do. Adam and Eve had the same problem. God told them to not touch the Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil and what was one of the first things they did? Touch the tree.

We need to remember to leave alone that which God has dealt with through Christ. Colossians 2:13-15 (bold mine) says it best,  When you were dead in your sins and in the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made you alive with Christ. He forgave us all our sins, having canceled the charge of our legal indebtedness, which stood against us and condemned us; he has taken it away, nailing it to the cross. And having disarmed the powers and authorities, he made a public spectacle of them, triumphing over them by the cross.

So let us remind ourselves daily to leave it alone. What God has nailed to the Cross stays on the Cross. We bear it no more, Praise the Lord, Praise the Lord, O’ my soul*. 

*It is Well With My Soul- hymn by Horatio Spafford

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

