precious

My grandmother passed away two weeks ago. She was a strong, talented, amazing, woman who loved her family fiercely and heaven help you if you hurt one us. As the oldest grandchild I had the incredible position of loving and being loved by her for over forty-six years. She was my last grandparent and the hole is a bit raw around the edges with her absence.

One of the things Gram did was to call each of us Precious. As each grandchild was born the title of Precious was given to him or her. As we grew up and had children of our own the title was transferred from us to them. We knew we were loved dearly and valued above anything or anyone else.

Recently the band For King and Country released their song, “Priceless” and I have found myself playing it over and over again. I can hear my Heavenly Father’s voice reminding that I am Priceless, just like those days as a child with my grandmother.

My worth is so much more than my what my clothing size is, the color of my hair (grey hairs be gone), the balance in my bank account, the degree I may or may not have framed on my wall.

God sees me — He sees you– and thinks we are precious and priceless. We are worth so much it cannot be measured in a monetary value or otherwise. If you think I am making this up, remember the Cross. God said we were worth the death of His Son. We matter that much.

Oh Best Beloved,  you are so precious to God. He set us apart for His purposes, as His children we are loved, we have access to the God of the Universe in a way no one else does.

Need proof? Here is what 1 Peter 2:9 has to say, But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.

We are precious to God. Say it with me, I am precious to GodSay it again and again until you believe it. Then after you believe it, go and share this truth with someone else. They need to hear it as much as you do, maybe more.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

