whoops

Sometimes I find myself making a mistake- it happens often this side of Heaven. These mistakes can be simple and small or complex and far-reaching. It is difficult to keep my mind focused all the time, striving to be intentional in what I do.

In the past, I would have fretted, worried, and turned myself into a complete mess trying to figure out how to turn back time and undo that mistake. Now, I take a deep breath, acknowledge the “whoops” and keep moving forward.

By choosing to move forward I leave behind the opportunity for the enemy to pick at the mistakes and encourage me to wallow in my failures. Wallowing may be good for pigs, but it isn’t good for me.

My heart has begun to hear more clearly, my eyes see with more clarity, as I have been healing through my counseling. I am not meant to sit in my past being sorry for what I did wrong, what was done wrong to me.

I am meant for more. You are meant for more. We were created to learn, to grow, to be stretched, to seek God and to remember that the past is the past

Paul explains it this way, Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead,  I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus (Philippians 3:13-14, bold mine).

One of my favorite verses is in Isaiah 43:18-19 (bold mine), Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.

God says again and again in Isaiah to forget the past and go forward. Scripture is clear, we are new creations (2 Corinthians 5:17), the new wine in the new wine skin (Matthew 9:17). We will make mistakes, we are not in Heaven yet.

But Oh Best Beloved, don’t let the past define your present or your future. There is so much more that God has created you to do, let it go. Go forward.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

