rubies

My husband and I have an unusual courtship story. One we treasure because we can see God’s hand all along the way. I was engaged to another young man while my husband and I were best friends. About three weeks before the wedding, my fiance called off the whole thing.

Brokenhearted I called my best friend. He listened, prayed, and listened some more as I tried to understand why I had come so close, but didn’t get to the altar. Little did I know God’s amazing plan.

Six months after my fiance called off the wedding, my best friend broke the news that he felt like God was telling him we were supposed to get married. Yeah. I didn’t handle that well, I actually said something like, “Oh heck no!” I didn’t want to lose my best friend to being a potential husband. I was certain nothing could be better than what we already had between us.

Three year later, God got a hold of my heart and told me, yes, in fact, that was part of His amazing plan. My husband and I were married less than six months later.

Scripture talks about precious stones often, using them to compare something of value in God’s economy to man’s economy. Rubies are no different.

When my husband and I were engaged we lived in different states, pre-Facebook and Skype. We had letters, packages, and phone calls to keep us together. One of the things I sent my husband was a picture of me from the first summer we met. On the matting around the picture he wrote the verse reference, Proverbs 31:10: A wife of noble character who can find? She is worth far more than rubies.

I had never been valued like that. Not in a relationship – not even by my ex-fiance. Here was my best friend, now fiance, proclaiming my worth and value.

As a child of God, God looks at me, He looks at you, and He says we are priceless, worth more than all of the money and valuables in man’s economy. We are worth the life of His son, Jesus.

Let me say that again. We are worth the life of His son, Jesus. So many times we buy the lie that we aren’t worth anything, or we aren’t worth as much as an item or another person. What a crock!

God says in Isaiah 43 that we matter to Him- that we are precious and honored in his sight (v. 4a). We may wish for diamonds on our left hands to show we matter to our spouse, but God says, we are priceless, irreplaceable treasures. Made in His image, worth the brutal abuse His son received on our behalf, worth the death His son took in our place.

We call it Amazing Grace  for a reason, it is amazing. Have you experienced this Grace? What is stopping you? You will pay for nothing, Jesus has paid for everything. We get to have a relationship with the God of the Universe when we accept the gift of Grace offered through Christ.

That is worth far more than rubies.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

