My reality

I can’t were two words I was not allowed to say growing up. My coaches would say things like, “Never say can’t, say can. Never say won’t, say will.” We were always to try new skills and techniques to improve, whether it was on the track or the gymnastic mat.

Teachers were the same. We were to try to accomplish our tasks and if we needed help we could seek it, but we could not-under any circumstances- quit trying to learn new concepts. Even my parents challenged me to embrace the new adventures before me.

Here is my reality. I really can’t- as in I am unable to, I cannot.

I cannot be a good wife, meeting my husband’s needs, supporting him and encouraging him in our marriage.
I cannot be a good mom, guiding and training up our sons to be young men of honor and courage and character.

I cannot be a good friend, a good daughter to my parents, even a good employee or volunteer.

I cannot do it. Unless.

Unless, I surrender everything, every person, every activity to God.  My marriage, my children, my relationships, occupation, and services, must be laid at the foot of the Cross.

Why surrender them? Why not ask God to be my travelling buddy and come along with me for the occasional redirection on the journey?

Simple. When I surrender all that I am, all that I have, to God, I am acknowledging the reality of my finite existence in the presence of an infinite God. If I try to have God as my travelling buddy He will eventually become a speck in my rear-view mirror.  I don’t know how to include Him in things by portions, I only have the ability to ignore Him or invite Him. I have learned this the hard way in my Faith journey.

God is best when He is in charge of me. So, I surrender. Again and again, each day, each hour, as I need to. And every time I surrender it becomes easier and easier to entrust my days to the One who created them with a word. All to Jesus I surrender. Again and again. 

  1. All to Jesus I surrender,
    All to Him I freely give;
    I will ever love and trust Him,
    In His presence daily live.

    • Refrain:
      I surrender all,
      I surrender all;
      All to Thee, my blessed Savior,
      I surrender all.
  2. All to Jesus I surrender,
    Humbly at His feet I bow;
    Worldly pleasures all forsaken,
    Take me, Jesus, take me now.
  3. All to Jesus I surrender,
    Make me, Savior, wholly Thine;
    Let me feel the Holy Spirit,
    Truly know that Thou art mine.
  4. All to Jesus I surrender,
    Lord, I give myself to Thee;
    Fill me with Thy love and power,
    Let Thy blessing fall on me.
  5. All to Jesus I surrender,
    Now I feel the sacred flame;
    Oh, the joy of full salvation!
    Glory, glory, to His Name!
I Surrender All | Judson W. Van DeVenter

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

