seekers

One of the games my sons loved to play was Hide-and-Seek. In the beginning their hiding places were pretty basic; behind a chair, under a blanket, often with a bit of giggling while trying to keep quiet.

As time went on, their hiding places became more elaborate. I’d find them in the trees, in the laundry hamper, places I wouldn’t normally think of looking. As young men, they don’t hide physically, but they do hide emotionally and spiritually.

When our insides are tender and worn from the battering of the world we tend to tuck our hearts deeper inside. We are less likely to allow someone to get close, we don’t want to risk further damage to our hearts. But when we tuck our hearts away, we miss out on the healing God offers to us.

We know God will seek us (Genesis 3:8-9), at the same time God longs to be sought out too. When we are weary from battle we can come to Him and seek His wisdom and His healing.

God designed our hearts, He knows what is going on inside of them, even when we don’t understand it. Just like He knew where Adam and Eve were when they were hiding, God also knows where we are hiding our hearts and why.  We aren’t really hiding anything.

Matthew 6:33 was one of the first verses I learned in Sunday School.The words have floated in and out of my mind so many times in the last 40 years. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Seeking God first, knowing He has the best for me in mind, means that I can trust Him with my heart, my mind, myself, and know that He will care for me.

It’s when I try to keep things from Him that I become a target for the other seeker, the enemy. Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour (1 Peter 5:8). This seeker is looking to destroy me, while God is seeking to heal me.

My heart may be tender, but that tenderness is because I am growing more like Jesus each time I embrace what God is doing in my life. When I try to hide I miss the opportunity to grow.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

