cutting the strings

I’ve mentioned before that I was surrounded by strong women growing up. They were constantly on the move; cleaning, preparing, cooking, or working in the yard. As I grew, I believed that in order to be a successful woman, I needed to be just as busy.

In turn, I have a schedule many of them would recognize and probably approve. I work Monday through Friday in town, then return to the farm each evening to do household chores like the dishes, laundry, working in the garden, checking and feeding the animals, collecting eggs. Finally heading to bed around 9 or 10 p.m. to wake again at 4:30 a.m. to start again.

This process seemed fine, until I watched someone recently who was just as busy in her home. The thing is, in her busyness, she missed out on what was happening in her house. There were people there waiting to spend time with her, to continue to build relationship with her.

In her desire to control the house and make sure it functioned well, she was now being controlled by the house and her busy schedule didn’t allow her to rest and enjoy her house which felt less and less like a home.

It reminded me of some of the best five verses about resting and busyness. Luke 10:38-42 describes two sisters preparing for Jesus’ visit. One rushed, worked hard, and continued working when Jesus came into the home. The other sister helped, but stopped when Jesus came in. She knew what was important. She took off the apron and sat at the feet of Jesus.

O Best Beloved, Mary knew the value of her company. The value of her time with Jesus.

So I have begun to cut my apron strings. I don’t need to be constantly moving in my house. I need to spend time with the dear ones in my house and make sure we all feel at home. Without the busyness, without the rush, without feeling guilty for not immediately clearing the table.

The precious ones in my life are only here for a moment. My son will be going off to college within the next twelve months. My dishes will still be waiting to be washed whether it’s now or an hour from now. But making memories, spending time, listening, laughing, and loving on my children, my spouse, friends, and family matters more.

So cut the strings with me and let the dishes sit.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

