you are Mine

I am not a romance-novel-kind-of-girl. I prefer something full of history, wisdom, a strong theme, and if it has a bit of romance that’s okay too. However, when it comes to the romance God has with us, then I am all mush.

When I was a young believer my church used to sing a song based on Isaiah 43:1-3. It was such a wild image, God coming in as the protector of us, His children. That we would not be abandoned, left to our own devices, but that He would redeem us and save us. It helped my broken heart heal, knowing that I was never going to have to walk through my Faith Journey alone.

As I grew in my faith, I learned about the “secret” story behind Song of Songs, sometimes called Song of Solomon. While the story is of two lovers and often seen as being scandalous for the Bible, but for me, I was amazed. The story was also about the love God felt for us His Bride.

God loved us-loves us– like a lover who longed to hold his precious one in His arms, to caress away the cares and worries, and hold us safely through the night. What an image!

Early in my marriage I found a jeweler who took one of the verses from Song of Songs and imprinted it on a his-and-hers set of rings. The verse says, I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine (Song of Songs 6:3). The verse, written in Hebrew, says on his ring, “My beloved is mine and I am hers” and her ring said, “My beloved is mine and I am his.”

I relished the idea of being treasured by my husband that way. The ring was an unspoken way to carry his love for me no matter where I went.

Now, years later, the ring has taken on new meaning. I know the words are about my husband and me, but they are also my words to God. My beloved is mine and I am His. 

God sees me as His beloved. His Word says I am precious (Isaiah 43:4), accepted, adopted, chosen, redeemed, and forgiven (Ephesians 1:2-14). I belong to Him. My name is engraved on His hand, like a tattoo (Isaiah 49:16). Such an image!

O Best Beloved, do you realize as a child of God this is the Truth about you, too?  Do you?

I know this life is rough, in some ways it just flat stinks. We weren’t created for life here – this side of Heaven’s perfection (Genesis 1-3). But we are here. In a way, it helps us lean into Jesus more. Our desperation for His Grace, His love, His mercy, and His redemption draws us to Him and Him to us. Don’t believe me? Call out to Him to help you see yourself as He sees you.

We are His beloved. 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

