Expect it!

A recent devotional entry began with these words, “Expect to encounter adversity in your life, remembering that you live in a deeply fallen world” (Young 241). What a perspective to start my day!

And yet.

Living my life thinking I should be in Disney musical would be foolish. I will not be surrounded singing animals, dancing mice, or jazz-playing fish. Trouble will be around me, has been around me. I bear the scars, the marks from stitches to prove it.

What to do with that adversity is the big question. Will I ignore it? Embrace it? Whine about it? Defy it? Will I become a victim of it?

What to do?

I need to expect it. Jesus spoke clearly, In this world you will have trouble” (John 16:33).  There should be no shock then that there will be some mornings the car won’t start, the baby will wake up sick, you will wake up sick. These things will happen this side of Heaven.

But thankfully the verse above does not end there, “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

Jesus will always be bigger than our troubles, stronger than our fears, we are not alone. Ephesians 6 reminds us we are in a battle, we should wear our armor and be prepared. Choosing to spend time framing your day with God will prepare you for the struggles that will come throughout your day.

O Best Beloved,  as you dress for your day, remember your armor. This world is a battlefield, we should expect difficulty. At the same time we can embrace the promises of God. We are not alone, He is with us (Matthew 28:20) when we face these troubles.
(Young, Sarah. Jesus Calling.  HarperCollins Christian Publishing)

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

